Online View

Scrap Metal Dealer Registration Program, Scrap Metals Registration 07/08/2013

Is this email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

Scrap Metal Dealers

The Tennessee General Assembly has recently made changes to statutes which may impact you as a holder of a license with the Scrap Metal Dealer Registration Program. These new changes as set out in the following Public Chapters specifically amend the Tennessee Code Annotated as follows:

Public Chapter No. 271, amends Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-9-102 relative to dealer registration. The amendment delays the expiration of a scrap metal dealer registration upon the death of the registrant for locations designated in the registration for a 60-day period; provided, the Commissioner of the Department of Commerce and Insurance may extend the 60-day period for good cause. Additionally, the chapter specifies that a scrap metal dealer registration will expire upon notification to the Department of Commerce and Insurance that the registrant is no longer an employee or agent of the location by the location registered with the Department of Commerce and Insurance.

Public Chapter No. 138, amends Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 56-1-302 and 308, which will allow the Division of Regulatory Boards to implement a system for the electronic submission of complaints and applications and for notifications, including those of renewals and rulemakings, to be sent electronically. The public chapter also makes payment of a civil penalty assessed after a hearing under the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, in title 4, chapter 5, a prerequisite to the renewal of any license issued by the Division of Regulatory Boards unless such penalty is stayed or acceptable arrangements are made for payment of the civil penalty prior to the renewal.

Public Chapter No. 122, amends Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-3-1304, relative to boards and commissions. This chapter requires that each board attached to the Division of Regulatory Boards establish a procedure to expedite the issuance of a license, certification, or permit for a person licensed in another state to perform those services who is a qualifying spouse of a member of the armed forces or is a qualifying member of the armed forces applying within one hundred eighty (180) days of retirement, receiving a discharge other than a dishonorable discharge, or being released from active duty into a reserve component of the United States armed forces. The chapter also requires the commissioner and each regulatory board to accept military education, training, or experience completed by certain qualifying persons towards the qualification to receive a license or certification if the education, training, or experience is determined to be substantially equivalent.

Dept. of Commerce & Insurance | 500 James Robertson Pkwy | Nashville, TN 37243-0565
(615) 741-2241
If you do not want to receive these emails, simply Unsubscribe